June 30, 2011

  • The Wimpy Effect

    A gentle reminder and heartfelt appeal –

    Many readers might be too young to remember the character, Wimpy, from old Popeye cartoons.  Wimpy’s signature line was, “I will gladly pay you Tuesday for a hamburger today.”

    Having always practiced the divinatory arts under the age old system now being called, “the new anarcho-capitalism”:  “pay what you think the service is worth after you receive it,” I have had plenty of opportunity to observe human behavior in its many commercial and economic facets.  I observed, for example, that some people will value a product or service according to its cost, rather than evaluating it on its usefulness, beauty or some other criteria.  In my opinion, that’s absurdly simpleminded and counterproductive.

    Another trait I observed is something Greyfox and I call the Wimpy Effect:  those who tell us in advance of a reading that they will pay afterward, generally tend not to pay.  A corollary to the Wimpy Effect is that we’re more likely to get paid by those who don’t even mention payment beforehand than by those who vow to pay.  This has long been a source of bemusement and wry amusement to us.

    I’m here today to appeal to you — if, in the past, you pulled a Wimpy on me or on my partner Greyfox, who does all the past-life readings, now is the time to make good on your pledge.  Greyfox is losing his eyesight.  The conditions are treatable, but physicians and surgeons don’t work under the new anarcho-capitalistic system.

    Greyfox provides details on his personal blog, in an entry titled, please help me not go blind.  He supplied 3 payment options, and you could also use the PayPal link below.

    PayPal

    Payment for
    service is
    appropriate.

    All donations
    are appreciated.

Comments (378)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *